Today’s Readings: AM Psalm 30, 32; PM Psalm

A Reflection from Mike Wade, Assistant to the Director of Christian Formation, Diocesan Staff

Greetings! Happy Advent!

Today I wanted to reflect on a couple of today’s readings that stand out to me in particular.

11207230625_25ce8d8af5_oIn Haggai 2:1-9, the Lord goes before the prophet Haggai and talks about remaining faithful to the Lord and you will be rewarded for your faith – at least that’s my interpretation – which is always a strong and clear message, but not always so easy to follow through on. I find myself in a certain time of my life where I’m embarking on a lot of new adventures (just married, first house purchase, new puppy), all of which I have no prior experience in. It’s not that I’m afraid of what’s coming next, but there’s certainly the aspect of the unknown and not knowing what it’s all going to look like. I do trust that the Lord wouldn’t lead me down the wrong path, and there’s definitely a level comfort that comes with being steadfast in my faith. Nobody understands better than me that finding time to be with God can be difficult with all of life’s goings-on, but for me it’s always been rewarding and worth the sacrifice in the end.

Colossians 4:2-6 says “Conduct yourselves wisely towards outsiders, making the most of the time. Let your speech always be gracious, seasoned with salt, so that you may know how you ought to answer everyone.” This passage speaks a great deal to me about Advent and what this time of year brings. Scripture tells us we should always be good to one another, and it’s true, but it seems like this time of year is when charitable giving seems to really get dialed up. It’s too bad that we often limit ourselves to when to be so generous and kind but its better then never doing anything for your fellow man, including “outsiders.” It’s very easy to forget about people we don’t and not think about their needs, but I do feel it’s our responsibility to do what we can when we can.

Thanks for sharing in my Advent mediation today; I hope all of you have a safe and wonderful holiday season!

Posted by The Diocese

Leave a Reply

